WolfPaw Fraud Protection

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WolfPaw Fraud Protection

Anyone out there still using Wolfpaw Anti-fraud module? I have been using Wolfpaw since 2010 when I purchased the module directly from Miva. There are some changes that I needed to make on the Wolfpaw Configuration Page, specifically update the server URL due to changes being made by Maxmind. The configuration page is no longer available on my Payment Setting Tab. Instead, Wolfpaw module wants me to enter a license key, and when I do, it indicates that it is in use. When I contacted Miva support, they say that Wolfpaw is no longer supported and that I should reach out to Wolfpaw support. When I reach out to Wolfpaw support, they believe that Miva has taken down their Wolfpaw license server and there is not anything else they can do. Just wondering if any one else has encountered this issue. Thanks in advance for your assistance.

The license server they're referring to was a third party's license server on the domain mvcool.com, which was a module store similar to our app store, dating back to the early 2000's twenty years ago. The owner of that site ultimately closed the business, and while he did turn it over to us at that time, the site code was written with dependencies on software that went end of life about fifteen years ago. We patched it together for a few years to try to keep it functional but that ultimately became impossible and it was turned off. This particular module was not updated to make use of our license server, which has been available for more than a decade.

That module should not be used in an active store at this point, not only due to the above issue, but it has other problems from its date of release, particularly its inability to work with a type of internet address called an IPv6 address. This incompatibility means stores that use the module are prevented from receiving certain optimizations from our side.