Can Miva 4.23 be deleted from server after 5.5 up & running?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Miss Kate
    Mivite

    • Aug 2006
    • 269

    #1

    Can Miva 4.23 be deleted from server after 5.5 up & running?

    I have been running Miva Merchant 5.5 ever since we had to convert from 4.23 for compliance. Can I delete anything that had to do with my old storefront from my Hostasaurus server? I just received a message that I am overlimit today and it is because I have been doing a lot of work on my store for the past couple of weeks. If the old 4.xx stuff doesn't need to be on the server any longer to interface with 5.5, can I back it up for safekeeping and then delete it off?



    Kathleen Steimle-Hermes
    , owner
    Miss Kate's Creations
    [email protected]
    www.misskatescreations.com


    Handcrafted fabric covered photo albums, frames, brag books and MORE


  • Bruce - PhosphorMedia
    Developer Partner











    • Mar 2006
    • 11257

    #2
    Re: Can Miva 4.23 be deleted from server after 5.5 up & running?

    The only things that may be of any value are:

    Images
    Product Descriptions
    Order History.

    Product Descriptions and Order history can be "backed up" by exporting to a file and then downloading them to your computer
    Images can just be downloaded as is to your local computer.

    Then you can delete everything.
    Bruce Golub
    Phosphor Media - "Your Success is our Business"

    Improve Your Customer Service | Get MORE Customers | Edit CSS/Javascript/HTML Easily | Make Your Site Faster | Get Indexed by Google | Free Modules | Follow Us on Facebook
    phosphormedia.com

    Comment

    • ILoveHostasaurus
      Mega Mivite










      • Mar 2006
      • 4998

      #3
      Re: Can Miva 4.23 be deleted from server after 5.5 up & running?

      Yes, it will no longer be used. The data portion is easy to identify and delete, it will just be the 'Merchant2' folder in your mivadata directory. The scripts side of things can sometimes be a little more tricky because it's not entirely unusual for customers to have us swap a new version into the same directory their old version ran from for SEO reasons, so sometimes you might find that the Merchant 5 files exist in a directory called Merchant2 and the older files are in the mm5 directory that the new store started out in. There will be a "5.00" directory within the active Merchant version 5 directory so that may help identify it. The only other issue we've sometimes run into is customers may build a new store in a new directory but still have hard links in their html code to images from the old store directory, typically Merchant2/graphics/00000001/<image name>. As long as you're sure you have nothing linking to content in the old store directory, it is safe to delete.
      David Hubbard
      CIO
      Miva
      [email protected]
      http://www.miva.com

      Comment

      • Miss Kate
        Mivite

        • Aug 2006
        • 269

        #4
        Re: Can Miva 4.23 be deleted from server after 5.5 up &amp; running?

        Thank you, Bruce. I know this stuff has been taking up a lot of room in my account on the server. Just being cautious and asking first.

        Originally posted by Bruce - PhosphorMedia View Post
        The only things that may be of any value are:

        Images
        Product Descriptions
        Order History.

        Product Descriptions and Order history can be "backed up" by exporting to a file and then downloading them to your computer
        Images can just be downloaded as is to your local computer.

        Then you can delete everything.



        Kathleen Steimle-Hermes
        , owner
        Miss Kate's Creations
        [email protected]
        www.misskatescreations.com


        Handcrafted fabric covered photo albums, frames, brag books and MORE


        Comment

        • Miss Kate
          Mivite

          • Aug 2006
          • 269

          #5
          Re: Can Miva 4.23 be deleted from server after 5.5 up &amp; running?

          Thank you, David. When the store got converted over an entirely new directory got created for mm5 with all the graphics and everything linked to that. I had been wondering for awhile and since I got the overlimit message this morning, I knew I had to do something about it.

          Originally posted by ILoveHostasaurus View Post
          Yes, it will no longer be used. The data portion is easy to identify and delete, it will just be the 'Merchant2' folder in your mivadata directory. The scripts side of things can sometimes be a little more tricky because it's not entirely unusual for customers to have us swap a new version into the same directory their old version ran from for SEO reasons, so sometimes you might find that the Merchant 5 files exist in a directory called Merchant2 and the older files are in the mm5 directory that the new store started out in. There will be a "5.00" directory within the active Merchant version 5 directory so that may help identify it. The only other issue we've sometimes run into is customers may build a new store in a new directory but still have hard links in their html code to images from the old store directory, typically Merchant2/graphics/00000001/<image name>. As long as you're sure you have nothing linking to content in the old store directory, it is safe to delete.



          Kathleen Steimle-Hermes
          , owner
          Miss Kate's Creations
          [email protected]
          www.misskatescreations.com


          Handcrafted fabric covered photo albums, frames, brag books and MORE


          Comment

          Working...
          X